2.05 – Reflections

A/N: It’s been a while! Firstly, Australia was amazing, but I couldn’t get anything sim-related done at all!! Things have also been a bit hectic around here with the birth of my new baby brother, Scott, and me getting a job, so I’m sorry for the wait. Oh, and my laptop died the week I got home so I had to save up, buy a new one and then reinstall sims and deal with all my cc and everything. *_* Madness.

Hope you enjoy the chapter! :D

Jed,

I’ve arrived in Starlight Shores safely. I know you’re still mad at me about the whole Charity disaster (and I know I deserve it), but hey. You’re my best friend, and I miss you already!

The boarding school Doo Peas has sent me to – AKA the Henry Whitestable Institute – is a bit like a really posh manor house. You know, English country house kind of thing. It has sweeping lawns, trimmed border hedges and flowerbeds that explode with a riot of colour. (I was bored and read the brochure in the car on the way up.)

Inside the school is just as posh, with an entrance hall and a grand staircase and even a chandelier. I feel as though I’ve stepped back in time at least a hundred years. According to a plaque beside the main entrance the school was established in 1846, so I reckon not much has changed since then. But hey, you’ll be pleased to know it has both electricity and running hot water, so I won’t freeze to death.

It’s really unlike any school I’ve ever been to. There are only forty boys here (yes, it’s an all-boys school) and we sleep in dorms of four. When the brochure mentioned dormitories, I got really excited because I thought it’d be kind of like Hogwarts, with the tower rooms and the four-poster beds, but it’s nowhere near that exciting. (Not to mention, we don’t learn magic and I’m not destined to defeat any sort of Dark Lord.)

The dorm, however, does come with a massive television, a gaming system (though that might belong to one of the others), a big bookcase, a desk and computer, and a chest of drawers. And, bunk beds! It’s like being small again and sharing with Farrow, seriously!

When I arrived, I was taken to the headmaster’s office, a Mr Henry Whitestable. (I assume not the original Henry Whitestable, but you never know.) He looked at me down the length of his nose and told me what an asset he thought I would be to the school, but he said it in a way that I knew he didn’t really mean what he was saying. From the look of the place, he’s used to getting boys from parents with more money than they know what to do with, not – well, me.

Despite the fact a large part of me doesn’t really want to be here, his attitude made me really want to succeed. I guess that’s a good thing.

I’m writing this whilst everyone else is at dinner. I don’t know what it is – nerves, I guess – but I really don’t have much of an appetite. I haven’t met the other members of my dorm yet; they were in lessons when I arrived and they went straight from them to dinner, so… I guess I’ll be meeting them soon.

I hope they like me.

Look after Charity for me,

Elery

* * *

Jed,

Your letter must have got lost in the post, because I haven’t heard from you. You can’t still be mad at me, can you? I told you I was sorry. How’s Charity doing? =[

School’s been keeping me busy. Even though I was getting kind of average marks back home, it seems that here I’m very behind. I often feel kind of stupid compared to everyone else, but I’m keeping my head down and working hard. You wouldn’t believe it if you saw me, Jed. I always seem to have my head in a book nowadays – maybe I’m turning into you!

Thankfully, I’ve made some friends here (though no one can replace you, don’t worry!). I felt like some sort of animal in a zoo the first few days, when everyone would be staring at me like I had two heads or something, but everyone soon got used to me. I was expecting some bullying for being, I don’t know, scarred or poor, but there hasn’t really been much. A few comments and ‘accidental’ shoves in the corridor, but it’s not like I’ve been cornered and beaten up. Just as well, really. You know I’m useless in a fight.

The three guys in my dorm seem to have adopted me into their group. I think it might have been a lot more difficult if they hadn’t accepted me, but… yeah, things seem to be going well.

Jonathan Beresford (known more often as Jack) is really awesome, and I think Farrow would get on great with him. He’s really into music, but his father owns this huge company (I think they deal with home improvements) and he’s pushing Jack to get involved, which is why he’s hear at business school. Sometimes in the evening he plays his guitar and, for a while, I feel less homesick.

Oakley Newhaven is the son of a lord, and I was quite intimidated when I was first introduced to him. I needn’t have worried, because he’s one of the sweetest guys I’ve ever met. He helps me a lot with my homework, as I’m rather behind all these other boys who went to public school. I’m catching up, though. I even got top mark in the class the other day (though some of the credit should probably go to Oakley…)!

Alistair d’Vair is from a rich French family, but he can speak English as fluently as if he was born here. If it wasn’t for the slight accent, I never would have realised! He was the first person here to decide to take me under his wing, and ended up following me around for the whole day before I would take the hint that he might want to be friends (I thought he might have ill intentions so kept hiding from him, I’m ashamed to say)!

None of them can replace you, of course, Jed, as I already said. I really wish you were here. It’d be so much easier to get through this.

Elery

* * *

Jed,

Thank you for the letter, and thank you even more so for forgiving me. I was so stupid, but I’m glad I don’t have to lose you as well as Charity. I’m also glad that Charity seems to be moving on from me, even though she called me, well… you’re a braver man than I to write down those words where anyone could see them! Make sure this Derek person treats her right, okay?

Everything is fine here. I’m happy.

Elery

* * *

Dear Jed,

Lately I’ve been having these dreams.

They start out ordinary enough, but soon I become aware of being followed. And then, out of the corner of my eye, I start to notice this man everywhere I look.

I’ve never seen him before in my life!

I wonder what it means. Perhaps it doesn’t mean anything at all.

What do you think?

Elery

* * *

Jed,

It’s been a while since I last wrote. School has been overwhelmingly hectic. I don’t think I’ve ever had so many essays to write all in one go! I swear my eyes are going to start to bleed from overuse; I already have blistered fingers. Cry forever.

Today is a day off. We’re supposed to be revising for upcoming end of year exams, but we’re all lazing around by the school pond. I can’t believe this year has gone so quickly!

I’m sorry to hear about Charity breaking up with Derek. I know it sounds kind of lame coming from me, but I genuinely wanted her to be happy, you know?

Do you think she’d write back if I sent her a letter?

What have you been up to? How’s the revision coming along?

Elery

* * *

Dear Charity,

Perhaps I’m being a bit presumptuous, writing to you like this, but I’m fed up with acting like a schoolboy and trying to tell you things through Jed. I was the biggest idiot in the world when I broke up with you, and I’m sorry that it’s taken me this long to realise that.

I’ll understand if you never forgive me.

All my love,

Elery

* * *

Jed,

Exams are over! We’re freeeeeee!

Should be home in a few weeks, when results have come in and I know whether or not I have to stay for another year (pleasegodno)! Looking forward to seeing you, Jed!!

How did you do? I’m sure you’ve done fine, don’t worry! :)

Elery

* * *

Dear Jed,

I will probably be home before you get this letter, since I’m writing this at the airport waiting for my flight. I don’t know if you’ve heard the news or not. Actually, I don’t see how you can’t have. It’s been all over television.

My brother is dead. Farrow is dead.

It hurts to write that.

According to the papers, Farrow and Jabberwocky did their best show yet – a really big one in one of Bridgeport’s most prestigious clubs. Then, whilst the rest of the band were celebrating, Farrow went back to their hotel and put a gun to his head.

That isn’t Farrow, Jed. He told me once that he would never be another Kurt Cobain, but look what happened! Why the fuck would he do this, Jed?! It doesn’t make any sense.

None of it makes sense.

The Farrow I know would never do that. Never. He was so HAPPY. He had just played the BEST SHOW OF HIS LIFE.

WHERE THE FUCK DOES SUICIDE COME INTO THAT?!

Please come to the funeral, Jed. I don’t think I can handle it without you.

Elery

48 Comments

Filed under Gen 2

48 responses to “2.05 – Reflections

  1. Erin

    Ooh, methinks an evil spirit is haunting the family :( Poor Farrow!

  2. Farrow, no! D: D: D: D: D: D: D: D: D: D:

    I have a feeling it has to do with James, since even Elery was having nightmares about him. Gabe and Susannah must be devastated.

    But I’m glad you’re back! The chapter was amazing up until the part about Farrow’s death.

    • Emy

      Nooooo, indeed! D:

      I am glad people are coming to the right conclusions about James Frank. He has unfinished business.

      Thank you!! I’m glad to be back – it’s just been so long! :( <3

  3. Dammit! Why is that spirit still around!!! Stupid James Frank. I hate him. He killed Farrow and I will back Gabe on that. And he put Gabe into the crazy-house, yup must burn James Frank’s body with salt and gas. Best way to deal with those pesky evil spirits. Okay, I’m just going to go crawl in a small space and cry over Farrow.

  4. Deeds

    My poor beautiful lovely Farrow! ALL MY CRAIS D;
    And poor Elery! I hope the poor dear doesn’t blame himself in any way shape or form in the future ;__;

  5. Oh my!

    I was enjoying how Elery was writing to Jed about how he was adapting to his new school. I was happy that Jed eventually forgave him. I’m still wondering if Charity did… His dreams were very weird… I can’t help but wonder what part James will really play in Elery’s story, and how he will be disposed of once and for all. Speaking of James. I felt like something bad was going to happen near the end (this chapter was sort of too happy ;-) ) but I never expected that to happen! I am appalled! Farrow can’t be dead! I’m not even entirely sure that him and Elery had one of those bonding forgiving moments! Those are a bare necessity! Okay… I’m going to stop rambling now…

    I did like the chapter. But I am really sad about Farrow… He had his whole life ahead of him…

    RIP Farrow Nesaren :-(

    • Emy

      Ahaha, I’m going to make you all suspicious of ANY happiness at this rate, aren’t I? Sorry. XD

      James has a big part to play in this legacy. That’s all I’m going to say on that matter. :)

      Poor Farrow. He and Elery didn’t even properly make up. :(

      Thank you! <3

      • Haha! Its okay. This chapter just gave off that vibe. I have no right to judge. The majority of my chapters in my Lee legacy have ended on a semi-down note, or a cliffhanger. Speaking of my legacy *nudges* ;-) hehe kdding.

        So how many generations is he going to be in? I know he’s going to probably going to play a big part in Elery’s story… But are you going to make him last for longer than that? That’ll be crazy! Not a bad thing though. Every protagonist needs an antagonist… Or at least a plot based issue.

        I thought not. That’s really sad… I know that in chapter 3 Farrow tries to have Elery sort of understand why he despises him so much… But it really didn’t work out so well. Elery must feel really low…

        Welcome

        Enter The Isbi!

        • Emy

          I haven’t forgotten about your legacies, don’t worry! :) I have so many to read but I’m slowly getting to them. It’ll happen eventually, I promise. :)

          Hahaha, that would be telling, wouldn’t it? ;D I’m not going to drag it out for all fifteen generations – that would be silly and it’d get kind of repetitive, but it definitely won’t end with this gen. I’ve got it all planned out. :)

          It is sad. I’ve started writing the next update and Elery is very low. :(

  6. Deja J

    GAH! Noooo not Farrow! D: Ok, I may have been a bit….erm…. bitter about him >> <> But still, nooooo~! …*cough* Anyway, I’m glad the trip to Australia went well :D But boooo for computer troubles :P Uhh, sorry if I seem hyper ^^; (running on low sleep here ”’>>)

  7. Im glad celery wasn’t bullied. I thought he would be. No, no Kurt cobain deaths. :( it has ti be murderer or something. I cant believe…..its so sad to see characters die, especially at a young age….and I always think back to when they were cute toddlers…:(

    • Emy

      Yeah, bullying would be too predictable and there ARE decent human beings in this world (though it doesn’t seem like it sometimes). I thought he deserved a bit of happiness.

      I know. He was such a cute little toddler. :( <3

  8. Woah. Was NOT expecting that turn of events. Perhaps some difficulties at school, maybe even a crappy bully situation, but Farrow committing suicide and the implication of a family “curse” so to speak in which the members are haunted by Frank!? NOT AT ALL. Hell, that’s kind of creepy as hell now actually.

    Have you ever seen The Woman in Black, with Daniel Radcliffe? It kind of reminds me of that, where she drove the children in the town to commit suicide if anyone ever saw her. So in this case it’s like the ghost of Frank is doing that. INSTANT CREEPINESS.

    So much for sleeping tonight D: But another great update, as usual! It’s so good to be reading some more Splintered Sun! <3

    • Emy

      Mwahahaha. I haven’t seen The Woman in Black but I do really want to! Even though it’ll creep me out and I’ll have to sleep with the light on, haha.

      You know, the words ‘family curse’ never crossed my mind, but you’re right. Haha. Frank has a tiiiiny bit of a vendetta going on. Poor Gabe – there’ll be a part of him that knows it was his fault. It’s not like the nightmares have stopped.

      I didn’t want to go down the bully route with Elery. :) I thought that was too predictable and, you know, hopefully there’s more accepting people in the world than not. We can live in hope. :)

      THANK YOU! It’s good to write more Splintered Sun. Now to catch up with my bursting inbox! <3

  9. ….. ;A;

    I hate you a little bit right now D:

  10. NONONONONOTHOTFARROWHEWASSOHOTIHOPEDHEMADEBABIESBEFOREHE…. NOOOOO ANDTGEYNEVERMADEPEACE!!!

    • Emy

      Sadly no babies! It is a waste of good genes!!! ;A;

      No. :c They didn’t really, did they? Sad forever. That’s partly why Elery is so angry about the whole thing.

  11. Farrow no ;-;
    Poor Elery, can I just come in and give him a hug? Just one ;-;

  12. Dreamy Underwood

    Oh God Emy, You are making me cry in Physics. I need to stop reading Sim in school. Anyway, Farrow Why? James Frank *runs towards him waving my pitchfork* What is that sprits problem. Is he haunting Farrow and Elery because they left Gabe’s Protection. I mean *cries* WHY! I mean Farrow his good genes amd THAT FACE! You stole it … Is he up for download *wink,wink. Nudge,nudge*

    • Emy

      Curse James Frank and his thievery of Farrow’s face!! >8[ He’s not up for download just yet, but soon I will make a downloads page. :)

      Sorry for making you cry! :c

  13. meginthebox

    I… don’t even… D: Goodness. That was so unexpected. Gah I don’t even know what to say! Farrow was such an awesome guy. I’m going to miss him like crazy. And poor Elery’s got it rough. All this makes me so sad.

    Why can’t James Frank just… re-die already. He’s making my heart hurt :/ Ruining everybody’s lives and what not.

    Oh… poor Nesarens. T_T Still, wonderful chapter. And welcome back!

    • Emy

      Aw, thank you It’s good to be back! :)

      Poor Nesarens indeed. :c James Frank really does need to re-die, but unfortunately he’ll be around for a while yet.

  14. Wow. Farrow is dead before the boys have a chance of forgiving each other.

    Will Frank be involved in the entire DITFT? Or just a few generation? I’m especially curious for generation 7, which is a long way off, if Frank will be a part of that.

    Don’t expect me to comment immediately, although I always read this.

    • Emy

      Yes. I’m a horrible person, I know. :c

      I don’t plan on James Frank being involved in every generation, because that would get lame and ridiculous (and boring). He’ll be around for a while, though. I have Plans.

      And that’s all right. I’m very behind on my reading, so I understand!!

      Thank you!

  15. Melanie Baker

    what?! no… James Frank is now a vengeful(er) spirit, Farrow ‘Killed himself’ and… and… awww… *Sniffles* you should really call the Winchesters… (Not my Winchesters, Supernatural’s Winchesters).

    brilliant update Em, looking forward to more!

  16. Jax

    OH MY WHAT?! Farrow?! Oh no, please no! This isn’t fair D: Poor Farrow! I refuse to believe that he took his own life; that doesn’t even make any sense. He was a stronger boy than that, there is just NO way he did this. I just know that something is going on. Someone is behind this and the police or someone need to look further into this! I surely was not expecting this twist, that is for SURE!

    But anyways, lovely chapter Emy! I know this is really late, but I’m late with anything anymore x.x School and such… But thanks again for your message before. It was good to hear from you :) <3

    – Jax

    • Emy

      Don’t worry about being late, Jax – I still have updates to read from August! x_x

      Yes, there is definitely something sinister going on… dun dun duuun. Poor Farrow. D: *cuddles him and Elery and everyone D:*

      Thank you so much! <3

  17. Unrelated, can I download some of your sims from this?

  18. Herenya

    Finally caught up, nice chapter ^.^ Elery is a really interesting character o.o I wonder how he’s going to turn out in the end.

    Wow O.o it’s been a while, like almost a year right? xD
    Well :3 Hope you had a lovely christmas Emy and congratulations on your new baby brother ^^

    • Emy

      Aw, thank you! :) I’m glad you find Elery an interesting character. He’s got to grow up a lot more before the end of this gen, I promise you. XD

      Thank you so much! <3

  19. Elle Pi

    Since I’m on my phone, I’ll keep my comments brief. I just hope Elery gets more self-esteem because, regardless of the situation (and because he’s obviously a good person), he shouldn’t accept being kicked around by friends. I seriously don’t care for C. I get that usually girls play Sims so guys in these stories get the ultimate pegging, but geez. But it seems they’ll be headed for the eventually emotional reconciliation and El apologizing for being SUCH an asshole /sarcasm.

    Anyway, that aside you make it very easy to connect to the emotions of the characters, especially the MC. Can’t wait to see.what occurs in the aftermath of the suicide (so,I say when there is another update.)

    • Emy

      Hiya, thank you for the kind comment! Poor Elery – I don’t particularly think he was in the wrong, he was just trying to protect Charity the wrong way. And Charity doesn’t exactly have the best temper so she didn’t give him much of a chance.

      I’m hoping to update more when I get a new computer. My laptop finds it hard to run the sims. :(

      Thanks again! <3

Leave a comment