2.04 – Someone Who Isn’t Me

A/N: Adult content warning, in case the one on the side of the page isn’t enough. :) Both for language and sexual situations.

Need to try and catch up on my inbox now. I have about 50 updates to read from the end of May onwards. *_*

By the next day, everything seems brighter.

My brother is going to Sunset Valley, where he might hit the big time and achieve everything he’s ever dreamt of. I have a date – well, ‘outing’ – with Charity, who’s probably the most beautiful girl I’ve ever lain eyes on (don’t tell her I said that, she’d probably laugh at me) and maybe – just maybe – we’ll end the night as something more than friends.

On top of it all, I have a job. An actual, guaranteed job. Sure, it may not be anything I’ve wished for, or even thought of, but still… my stomach gets a little fluttery when I think about it. I can’t really tell if I’m excited or nervous, or some strange place in between.

“So,” I say, smoothing my hands nervously over the front of my shirt. “Definitely this one?”

Jed nods. “Definitely. It doesn’t look as though you’re trying too hard.”

I make a face at myself in the mirror. The sun is beginning to disappear behind the Riverview hills and, in the half-light, I don’t look too bad.

“I don’t know how I’m going to make it to this evening,” I admit. “I feel like I’m going to be sick.”

Jed pats me on the back.

“You said yourself this isn’t really a date.”

“But it might turn into one!”

“Look, Ri… she’s only Charity. You’ve known her since we were kids, and the evening suddenly becoming a date won’t make her turn into some terrifying hormonal monster.”

I glare at him.

“I’d be more inclined to believe you if you’d actually been on a date.”

Jed goes a rather startling shade of red.

“I’ll have you know I plan to ask Elisabeth out on Monday.” Absently, he messes up his hair with one hand, then smooths it back down again. “I mean, if I get her alone and there’s not a huge crowd watching.”

Feeling suddenly bad for snapping at him, I give him a weak smile. Jed is only trying to help.

“I know, I’m sorry. I’m just feeling a bit on edge.”

Jed rests a hand on my shoulder; its warm weight is comforting and I let out a breath I hadn’t even been aware I’d been holding.

“Look,” he said, meeting my gaze in the mirror. “You can do this. If it all starts to turn into a huge disaster, text me, and I’ll call you pretending to be your mum – some family emergency, all right? Then you can excuse yourself without totally ruining things.”

That small safety net – that way of salvaging things if the evening spirals out of my control – gives me the confidence to smile properly.

“Okay. Let’s do this.”

***

Singalot Castle is crowded, despite Charity’s assurances to the contrary. I guess opening night must have gone better than expected.

No one takes any notice of me as I slip in the front door, and I glance around for Charity’s familiar form amongst the mass of dancing, grinding bodies. My chest tightens at the sight of the crowd, but I remind myself to breathe and push my way through.

I find Charity at a table in an out-of-the-way corner. She waves when she sees me, a grin splitting her face.

“You made it!”

I manage to grin back and slip into the seat beside her. “Of course I did.”

We order drinks, and spend the first half an hour or so just talking, commiserating about the lack of Jed and generally catching up. After all, a lot has happened on my end since we had seen each other last,  and Charity has got her dream job at the used book shop in town. Jed will be so jealous when he finds out.

It feels like a normal evening out, minus Jed. But, of course, it’s not a normal evening out, and my body doesn’t let me forget it. Even as I try to keep light conversation going, my palms are sweating. My heart thumps against my ribcage. My stomach flips over every time she smiles at me.

I hope she can’t tell how nervous I am by looking at me.

It takes a little while, but eventually we forget all about Jed not being there (sorry, Jed) and just start to relax in each other’s company. It’s about this time that I realise that Charity is just as nervous as I am.

“Want to go on the machines?” she asks, during a lull in our conversation. “There’s a couple free.”

I glance over at the karaoke machines on the other side of the bar. There is a crowd milling around, listening, but only one is actually in use. My heartbeat suddenly seems a lot louder in my ears.

“In front of all these people?”

Charity grins. “Of course. Did you expect your audience to turn their backs on you or something?”

I frown as I feel my cheeks heat. “No, I just…” I shut my mouth and glance over at the karaoke machines again. “Okay, let’s do it.”

We get some tokens from the bar. Charity tries to pay for hers, but I (rather smoothly, I feel) step in with a ten pound note before she can open her purse. She grins at me and, it might just be my imagination, but I swear I see a soft blush stain her cheeks.

“What song do you want to do?” she asks, leaning one arm on the bar and looking up at me.

I smile. “I know the perfect song.”

As the first beats of Bruno Mars’s ‘Just The Way You Are‘ resonate through the room, I see Charity’s eyes light up.

For some, such a song may seem cheesy, or cliché…

… but for us, on that night, it was perfect.

Because, as she stands there, singing beside me, the lyrics are truth. Charity is amazing, just the way she is.

After the song finishes, we head back to our table.

Something has imperceptibly shifted in the time we sang together, and we suddenly seem much more relaxed in each other’s company. As we talk, Charity touches my hand – brief, gentle touches, so fleeting that I’m not even sure they’re real. Warmth settles in the pit of my stomach and every word is accompanied by a smile.

We are so engrossed in each other that we do not notice the two boys until they are right beside us.

Charity sees them first, and smiles.

“Need something?” she says, sweetly. “Did you enjoy our song?”

I glance up, and then look back at the table, knuckles whitening where my fingers grip the edge. Strangers always make me feel nervous.

One of the boys grins, flashing teeth.

“Would’ve enjoyed it more if we didn’t have to look at that ugly face over there.”

My stomach tightens.

Just ignore them, says some strange combination of my mother’s and Jed’s voice in my head. Ignore them.

Charity, on the other hand, doesn’t take any advice from an imaginary Jed.

“If you feel like that, you can fuck right off. That’s my date you’re talking about.”

The other boy laughs.

“You’re dating that?” He laughs again. “No wonder all the good girls are taken – they’re all dating freaks.”

Charity rockets to her feet before I even have the chance to blink. In the next moment, the boy is reeling backwards from a well-placed punch to the face.

“Or maybe they’re just not dating jerks like you.”

“Fuck, mate, she just punched me!” Bright red blood splashes down over his mouth and chin to stain his t-shirt.

“Then hit her back!”

“She’s a girl!” The boy raises a hand to his face. “Shit, I think my nose is broken.”

Charity raises her fists as the other boy takes a step forward, her eyes like steel.

“If you don’t back off, I’ll hit you too. Seriously.”

It happens so fast it is over before I realise it. The boy Charity didn’t punch lunges forward and shoves her down onto the table.

“You shut your mouth, bitch.”

I don’t really know what happened next.

One moment, I’m sitting in my chair, watching this unfold, the next wrestling with the boy who had dared to put his hands on Charity. It is like a red mist has descended over my eyes, rage boiling up through every vein in my body.

“Keep your hands off her!”

Sadly, two against one never goes well. After the sudden surge of adrenaline and the element of surprise has faded, the boy’s friend comes to the rescue. Instead of fighting back, I curl up in a ball and try to protect my internal organs as best I can.

Never let it be said that I’m stupidly reckless. I know when I’m beaten.

It takes two bouncers and the bartender to drag the boys off me.

By this point, Charity is beside herself. She’s been held back by a couple of girls we know from school, who obviously only have her best interests at heart. I don’t think Charity sees it that way, however, as she continues to shout abuse at the two boys as they are dragged off by the bouncers.

I remain on the floor, my face pressed against the floorboards. Everything aches, and the deep thrum of the music resonates uncomfortably through my chest.

The bartender crouches down beside me, his expression grim.

“I’m going to have to ask you and your friend to leave,” he says. “We don’t need anyone causing trouble.”

I get to my feet, wiping blood off a swollen lip.

“Yes, sir.”

***

After the disaster at the karaoke club, part of me (the aching, cold, miserable part) just wants to call it a night and go home. The other part of me, fuelled by a mixture of adrenaline and bravado, wants to shout and run and jump and stay out all night.

Charity and I settle on a sedate walk down by the river. We walk without speaking, looking up at the stars and allowing the sounds of the night wash over us. The cool night air soothes my aching face, and the near-silence is welcome after the wildness of the club. She keeps close to my side, biting her lip every time she opens her mouth to talk.

When we stop to look out over the water, Charity’s hand slips into mine, squeezing my fingers.

“Thank you,” she says.

For a moment, I can’t concentrate on anything other than the fact she’s holding my hand. Eventually, I manage to ask, “What for?”

“For leaping to my rescue.”

“Well…” I feel my face glowing red, and have to look away from her. “You leapt to my rescue first, and all I managed to do was get beaten up.”

Charity grins, though her hand tightens on mine and I can tell she is still quite shaken up from the night’s events.

“Yes,” she says. “But you managed to be quite chivalrous in doing so.”

“Like a knight, you mean?”

Charity laughs. “Maybe a squire. Knights are meant to win.”

“Oh.”

I blink at her, unsure whether or not to be offended. Then, I catch her eyes with mine and suddenly everything seems hilarious – much more so than it probably should. Our spontaneous, out of control laughter shatters the stillness. A startled fox darts out from the underbrush and away into the darkness.

What does it matter that I have a bloody nose and a split lip? What does it matter if we got kicked out of Singalot Castle? We’re with each other, we’re both okay, and the boys who had annoyed us are probably worse off.

Charity grips my hand whilst we laugh and then suddenly, inexplicably, we’re kissing. Breathless, heat-filled kisses that make my head spin with stars. For a moment, the night falls away and there is nothing but the feel of her body against mine, the taste of her breath on my lips.

And then we’re on the ground, with no idea how we ended up there. Something about this night has flipped a switch in us, kicked our relationship up a notch.

The long grass tickles my neck as Charity kisses me again, and my elbow sinks into the soft dirt. Dew seeps through my clothes to my skin but it hardly matters. Every sense is overwhelmed with Charity. The feel of her hair against the skin of my cheek. The softness of her body pressed against mine. The rustle of her dress as she moves even closer.

I decide I rather like kissing her.

Her fingers close over my wrist and she gently guides my hand to rest against her breast. At this unexpected development, I freeze, feeling suddenly clumsy and unsure in my own body. Charity’s lips recede from mine.

“It’s okay,” she whispers. “It’s just me.”

“Boob,” I say stupidly, and she lets out a snort of laughter.

“Okay, you’re definitely not thinking with your brain anymore.”

After a moment, she kisses me again, and something has changed. There is a desperate, reckless edge to her kisses now, and I can feel myself becoming swept under. She tightens her hand on mine, and I cautiously stroke my fingers over the fabric of her dress, feeling the alien swell of her breast. The curve of her bra.

Oh, my God.

I jerk my hand back as though I’ve been burned, and Charity pulls back to look into my eyes.

“What’s the matter?” she says, her voice as soft as a caress.

I cringe. “I have no idea what I’m doing.”

Charity smiles, and my breath catches in my throat as two cold hands slide up my chest under my t-shirt.

“Neither do I.”

“This is really awkward.”

“Elery, shut up and kiss me.”

I kiss her again, and this time she lets me lead. We kiss until I feel like I’m drowning in her, until every nerve in my body is singing and my trousers feel stupidly tight.

And then I’m above her, with my hands on her warm thighs under her dress.

“I still don’t know what I’m doing,” I admit, but this time I don’t want to stop.

Charity just smiles again and pulls me down.

***

When I told Jed what had happened between Charity and I that night, he was frantic. Didn’t he think we were rushing into things a little? Why hadn’t we at least used protection? He wasn’t ready to become Uncle Jed just yet.

I hadn’t even thought about it.

Thankfully, Jed was soon distracted by something else. About a week after Charity and I had our date, Jed worked up the courage to ask out Elisabeth Grey. Where we had been three, we became four.

On the outside, I am happy. Happy for Jed, happy that I have a beautiful girlfriend, but on the inside a gloom has descended.

I can’t get the words of those boys out of my head.

No wonder all the good girls are taken – they’re all dating freaks.

Maybe they’re right. Maybe she’s just dating me out of pity.

Maybe she deserves better.

***

About two weeks after my first date with Charity, a letter arrives that renders all of my dark thoughts obsolete.

“Elery!” Mum calls up the stairs. “Post!”

I am engrossed deeply in a homework assignment at this particular moment, so it takes me a few moments to register what she said. Then, I straighten in my chair, eyes wide.

I never get post.

I abandon my homework and trudge downstairs.

“What is it?” I ask, as Mum turns back to the washing up. “A bank statement?”

Mum shrugs. “It has the Doo Peas address on the back.”

Despite my determination to be happy about my future at Doo Peas, my blood runs cold. The letter, lying innocently in the middle of the table, suddenly seems dangerous.

I approach it gingerly, as though it is a bomb rigged to explode. Of course, nothing happens.

With trembling hands, I pick up the letter and tear it open. I have read it two times before the true meaning of the words begins to sink in.

“I have a place at an elite business school in Starlight Shores,” I tell Mum. My voice shakes. “According to this letter… I start next week.”

Mum turns, bubbles dripping from her washing up gloves onto the floor.

“Say that again?”

“I’m starting boarding school next week in Starlight Shores.”

Mum frowns, her eyebrows knitting together as the implication of my words hit her.

“How dare they do something like that without asking us!” When I don’t say anything, she fumes, “I have half a mind to call them up and tell them where to stick their boarding school.”

I cross the room and wrap my arms around her, resting my head on the safety of her shoulder.

“Mum, I don’t think I’ve got a choice, here.” I try to smile up at her and manage a grimace. “Besides, isn’t going to the Starlight Shores an amazing opportunity?”

Mum looks pained, evidently torn between staying strong for me and wanting to protect me.

“This isn’t what we wanted for you, Elery. We wanted you to forge your own path, not be dictated by this… this company.” She spits the word as though it is a rather nasty swear word.

I try to smile again, and this time I do a much better job.

“Don’t worry, Mum. No matter what happens, I will. I promise.”

***

Despite reassuring Mum that I was happy to comply with Doo Peas wishes and leave Riverview behind, really, I was terrified. I had never set foot outside Riverview in my life, except to visit Nanny and Grandad Moss in Meadow Glen.

On the other hand, it gives me a chance to release Charity so she can find someone who deserves her, who people won’t assume that she’s dating out of pity.

On the other other hand, I don’t want to lose her.

But I’ve got to give her that chance.

I arrange to meet Charity down by the river, in the same spot where we had spent the night together. In retrospect, this is a mistake. As I stand there waiting for her, I want nothing more than to stay with her forever.

But I’m moving so far away that it wouldn’t be fair not to give her a chance to date other guys.

If it’s meant to be, it’ll happen.

“Elery!”

I turn at the sound of Charity’s voice, trying to ignore the fact that my heart is doing somersaults in my chest.

“Oh, hey.” I try to smile but fail.

Charity is instantly on her guard, her eyes wary.

“What’s wrong?”

I run my fingers through my hair, wishing that I’d thought more about what to say.

“I have to leave. To go to boarding school.”

Charity’s eyebrows raise in shock. “Why the hell are your parents sending you to boarding school?”

“It’s not like that,” I explain. “It’s Doo Peas.”

“For fuck’s sake, Elery, are you just going to let them push you around forever?”

I have been asking myself the same question.

“No, I just… I can make something of myself, Charity. I know I can.”

Charity forces a smile. “Well, we can just see each other on holidays, then, can’t we?”

My stomach slowly rolls over, but I say nothing. I don’t know what to say. Charity must read the answer in my eyes, as she suddenly takes a step back, hurt flickering across her face.

“You’re… breaking up with me?”

I make myself nod, even though every part of my body is screaming no, no, no.

“I think it’s for the best.”

“But why? Why can’t we make this work, Elery?”

I swallow slightly. “Those guys were right. You deserve someone much better than me.”

I expect her to cry, to protest or for her to run off. What I don’t expect is the fist that connects with the side of my face with an almighty crack. I sprawl on the ground in the dirt before I even realise what is happening. Warm blood drips from my nose.

“You fucking idiot!”

She kicks me in the groin for good measure, and the whole world turns white.

“What did you think this was? A pity fuck?!” Her voice has risen by an octave and by several decibels, but I hardly notice as I curl into a tight ball of pain. “Jesus Christ, Elery. Jesus fucking Christ.”

Her foot collides with my knee and I grunt, before she whirls on her heels and stalks away.

She stops several steps away, her shoulders heaving with held back sobs. Then she turns back and snarls, “Maybe you’re right. Maybe you don’t deserve me!”

Her voice cracks on the last word and I close my eyes. I hear her footsteps retreating, torn between running and stumbling, and I feel like crying myself.

She’s right.

I am an idiot, but at least she’s free now. Free to pursue a life with someone else, someone who isn’t scarred. Someone who wasn’t signed over to a strange company before he was even born.

Someone who isn’t me.

43 Comments

Filed under Gen 2

43 responses to “2.04 – Someone Who Isn’t Me

  1. buhbuhbuh ELERY ;A; Y U BE NOBLE?! Y U NO SELFISH!?

    ;A;

  2. Oh poor Elery. D: And woot Charity can really hold her own.

  3. Deeds

    RIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII :(

    But damn, I have to say I LOVE Charity <3 And my goodness Elisabeth is so pretty <3

  4. Jedidiah

    Wow, Elery… that was so very…. stupid of you! I mean, moving to boarding school in a new city doesn’t have to be the end of a blossoming relationship. It might be hard on both parties but it can be done. But his thinking was, well, Charity just did things out of pity. Yeah right… o_O girls are like that (*insert sarcasm*). His mind just got poisoned by those two a-holes at the bar.

    You got a very cool spin on introducing the ‘business generation’. I like it. LOL and I see teen Jedself is still growing into his nose. >_<

    • Emy

      Poor teen Jedself. XD He’s not going to be particularly happy about Elery handled that, either! XD

      Elery’s very silly. He needs his self-esteem boosted by something or other. :c Ahh, Charity… I do love her. :) She’s great. Elery really needs to not let her go!!

      Thank you! :) <3

    • Honestly Jed, I have no idea what you are talking about with this whole nose business… I had to take out my skintones for a bit, and I saw him with the EA defaults, and it wasn’t even that bad… Jedself’s nose is fine!

      Punto comma! (that’s a rican saying, literally saying “.,” , which makes no sense, but it kind of means ‘end of discussion’)

  5. Elery’s an idiot. D= Him and Charity so could have made everything work out for the better. =( Him and Charity were so cute together. <3

    At least Chastity can hold her own. =3 I don't worry about her as much as I do Elery. He seems to take to heart what others say about him and he really shouldn't do that. =(

    <3 your story. =3

    ~Angel

  6. Elery, Elery, Elery *shakes head* Charity likes him because of his good, warm heart and the scarring means nothing to her. Why will he not realise that?! I feel for both of them, but at least Charity can hold her own!

    Fantastic writing as per usual :)

    • Emy

      Elery kind of tends to take things to heart, especially because he -hasn’t- really been bullied about his scars before. I mean, kids will be kids and have said some things, but this is the first time anyone’s been downright malicious about it. So it really got to him, even though all the evidence was pointing to it not being a problem.

      Charity sure is fiesty! XD Thanks! :) <3

  7. Momo

    *siiigh* Oh, Elery, you fool :( I’m sorry love, but you DID deserve that punch… and kick to the groin…

    Emy I just gotta say I absolutely LOVE your writing :D You’re such a great author, point blank!

  8. <3 Elery. He does need to learn to become tough, so the people who bothers him about the scars and the future business stuff doesn't get to him. Hopefully Starlight Shores will be good for him?

  9. Ok first off, Charity is an awesome girl who can really take care of herself and I loved their date at the kereoke bar. It really showed how much they cared for each other by standing up for one another.

    That being said, it’s hard to believe that Elery thought Charity did what she did that night out of pity. I don’t care what he thought he needed to say to her, but it’s her choice for who she wants to date and if Elery wasn’t so mean, they could have tried to work things out. (I’m trying REALLY hard not to call him stupid).

    That being said, here’s hoping that Starlight Shores will bring him something new and bright. Perhaps a place where he won’t be ashamed to show his face.

    • Emy

      Ah, I love Charity. She has (metaphorical) balls! Don’t worry, this won’t be the last we see of her. :)

      You can call him stupid. He WAS stupid. He totally screwed up his relationship with Charity because of the words of some stupid boys. He takes after his father more than I thought; that’s the type of silly thing Gabriel would do. >.>

      Starlight Shores will be good for him, at least. At the very least, being away from home will build up his independence and confidence (and perhaps a bit of a thick skin too!)

      Thank you! <3

  10. LilyShadowWriter

    Omggggggg, this chapter! Such a whirlwind of emotions! First I’m smiling like crazy, then I’m all “Woah!” at the bar fight, then I’m smiling again, then my heart sinks at the news of boarding school, and now I’m like “No, Elery! You stupid, stupid boy!”

    I wish Elery could see himself as the amazing guy he really is, because he is totally deserving of a girl like Charity and not at least giving their relationship a shot when it was going so well seems like such a shame! I mean, it is a shame! Argh, Elery! I’d smack you over the head, but it seems Charity has already beat me to the punch…literally. Gah!

    SO MANY FEELINGS!

    Lol. Another fantastic chapter as usual, Emy. You’re so talented! Eager to see what comes next for dear Elery…hopefully a nice dosage of sense being knocked into him XD but I guess I’ll see!!!

    • Emy

      *shakes him* I knoooow. Stupid boy!! *flails*

      At least Charity has some sense in her brain. We just need Elery to get the same from -somewhere-. *rolls eyes*

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed! :D <3

  11. Gah!!! I typed an essay of a comment, and then accidentally clicked on something else, and its all gone!!! Alright, round two.

    Holy crow! I liked this chapter! I am in awe of your writing skills! *jealousy* I wish I could write as good as you! ;_;

    My inner hopeless romantic was squealing (in a manly manner) during the growning relationship between Elery and Charity! I had a feeling something was going to come up to break them up… Please let them eventually get back together? *does puppy dog eyes* (again in a manly manner)

    I find it ridiculous when people think that they are entitled to make decisions for others because they think that they person isn’t “smart” enough to make their own decisions. Unless of course they are the person’s parent… Elery did deserve the punch in the face. Though I wouldn’t wish a kick to the groin on anyone, no matter how stupid they are.

    That being said, I sort of understand where he is coming from, as I have a bit of that probalem myself. In one of my relationships, I was sort of expecting the girl to one day laugh in my face and say that the relationship was a joke/prank, and that I wasn’t good enough to be a boyfriend. I didn’t do the whole “I’m going to break up with you for your own good*, I knew that she could make her own decisions. But I’m rambling now…

    Oh, I know that you are probably still busy, and I know I already asked this, but I wanted to request that your awesomeness would float over to my blogs and read a bit… After you empty your inbox of course.

    theleelegacy.wordpress.com

    thehugginsisbi.wordpress.com

    Moarpleazkthnxbye!

    • Emy

      Firstly, of course! I have a list of legacies beside my computer that I need to read! I promise I’ll get there. :)

      Haha, your comment made me laugh. Don’t worry, I don’t doubt your manliness! ;D As for Elery and Charity getting back together, I have the whole generation planned out so you’ll just have to wait and see. ^^

      Also, sorry, I’m a girl and I think we as a gender are a bit more casual about dealing out literary kicks to the groin! XD But yes, I agree he definitely deserved that punch to the face. *shakes him* Why, Elery, whyyyy?!

      Insecurity’s a big thing to struggle with in a relationship. ^^ My ex-boyfriend always had a lot of female friends that I thought were more suited to him and more into the stuff he was into than I was, so I was always worried that I wasn’t good enough or that he’d find someone better. It’s not a healthy way to be in a relationship, really, but I think it’s probably quite a common thing.

      Thank you so much for your comment. :) I’ll read your blogs as soon as I’m able. They’re on the list!

  12. Awesome writing! Has to be one of my favorite chapters you have written so far. I really love how you’re kickin’ off the second generation and I can’t wait to see what boarding school has in store for Elery.

    • Emy

      Awww, thank you! :) I really struggled to get this one out, so that makes me very happy. :D Hopefully you won’t have to wait too long for the next one. :)

  13. Melanie Baker

    *schniffle.* Ri… why? and awesome writing emy.

  14. I just found your blog today and I’m so hooked I’ve read ALL your previous chapters! The way you started this generation is so different from the way you started your first few posts. You never lose imagination and I love it!

    I just started a brand new legacy and I’d really love it if you can let me know what you think? :)

    http://themiddletonlegacy.wordpress.com/

    • Emy

      Awww, thank you so much! :) <3

      I will add your legacy to my list of legacies to read! Sorry I can't read it straight away but I have so much to read and do! But I'll get to it as soon as I can! :)

  15. This chapter is just so perfect! I love all of it, every bit. Poor dumb Elery–you should have at least tried to make it work long distance. Plus, Charity ROCKS!!! I love her! I was totally cheering for her when she hit the bullies–and, I have to admit, when she punched Elery too. He deserved it! Gah. Poor dumb guy.

    Oh, and “Boob.” omg, I laughed so damn hard I couldn’t catch my breath! Perfect!

    • Emy

      I know, Elery’s such a moron. XD He totally deserved it, but I feel sorry for him too. *shakes him*

      Boob, indeed. 8D

      Thank you!! <3 <3

  16. Simaholic63

    I kind of know where Elery’s coming from…the frame of mind he’s in….I’ve been there. Thank God I’ve found a man who loves me for who I am, not what I look like, or how skinny I am. Elery just needs to realize that because Charity’s known him since they were kids, she likes him for who he is, not what he looks like. She’s had time to get to know his wonderful personality. She probably doesn’t even see his scars anymore. Maybe he can get plastic surgery to fix the scars, but that won’t help the scars on his heart.

    • Emy

      Yes, exactly right. Hopefully his time in Starlight Shores will help him find himself, and hopefully by then it will not be too late to fix things with Charity.

      Thanks for the comment! :) <3

  17. Jax

    Boy oh boy Emy! Those were two very well put together updates! I enjoyed them very much so, such a talent you have my friend :D Also, totally off point and out of NO where… but I saw your pictures to the Harry Potter Castle tour… I was SO jealous. *pouty face* I love Butter Beer! It’s SO GOOD, I’m getting some when I go to Harry Potter part of Islands of Adventure. Me excited. I’ve been craving it ever since I left last year XD

    Anyways! Loved the updates (just said that… o.O) And Elery! What are you doing cutie pie??? You’re not worthless or a freak! Charity has a right to be mad at you for thinking she was just pitying you. A girl is NOT going to pity sleep with you, come on. She probably is falling in love with you! I feel so bad for him though, he’s such a gentle guy. I just see him so much like his father. I know he’s going to do well in his career, I just know it.

    Although before he leaves he better get his act into gear and make up with Charity before he loses her forever. She’s a sweet girl and he needs her in his life. She was even willing to make it work out at long distance, that really says something there.

    Also proud of Jedself for sucking up and asking the girl out! Yay! ^^

    Once again great updates, and sorry this is so late of a comment :c My bad. <33

    • Jax

      OH!! Almost forgot about my favorite part!

      “BOOB!”

      LOL I died… XD

    • Emy

      Aw, Jax, it’s all right! :) I know how life gets in the way sometimes (I’m overwhelmed enough myself, haha). Ahh, the Harry Potter tour was so good!! If you ever come to England, try to go! :)

      Aaaah, I just want to shake Elery. He’s such a dumb guy! *shakes him* We’ll see if it all works out in the end, though, you know I like happily ever afters… sometimes.

      BOOB was my favourite part too, hahaha. :D

      Thanks so much, Jax! <3

  18. I love sims

    Omg! This is soo gripping! i was almost crying!! i cannot wait for the next chapter!! and out of curiousity, are you english, because it sounds english lol :) im english too
    anyways :D great stuff xx

  19. meginthebox

    Whoo! I’m caught up now!

    First of all: OMG. You are an amazing writer! It’s so hard not to be jealous of your writing skills. I think my absolute favorite thing about this legacy is how deep the characters are – they all have such strong personalities! It’s like it hurts me every time they hurt. I almost cried for Elery several times.

    Okay here’s my short rant on Gabe’s chapters: It was sad all the way through, but when I read how the whole story on how he had been in love with James Frank, it just broke my heart. And how he is now, after the fire, just makes it all the worse. I want him to be happy! Then with the guilt of giving Elery to Doo Peas, it’s totally understandable he is the way he is. Go Susie for sticking with him! He picked the right girl.

    What ever happened to Kami, by the way?

    Now for Elery: As for where I almost cried, that was the “I can’t stand to look at you” part and the whole thing with how he’s telling himself he’s a freak and not worthy of Charity. It’s hurting her too, Elery!

    I’m super excited for the next chapter! I hope Elery comes to his senses about Charity… I don’t wanna see either of them hurt. D:

    • Emy

      Awwwww, thank you so much for all of your kind words. <3 The personalities of the characters are the most important thing in my writing, so I'm glad you picked up on that. <3

      Kami eventually found someone and had her own happily ever after. I think she deserved that much.

      Unless I can pull a miracle out of my hat, the next update will be sometime at the beginning of November. I can't play sims whilst I'm in Australia. :c

      Thanks again, though!! <3 <3

Leave a Reply

