1.03 – Blaze

A/N: Sometimes it amazes me what pictures you can take in the Sims 3. Seriously, if you haven’t played with the fog emitter yet (Buydebug -> Misc if you have Ambitions) you should check it out. ;)

Also, eagle-eyed readers will spot that the founders of my two other legacies have a cameo in this chapter (albeit with jarring personality transplants). Enjoy! :)

People say that dreams can’t hurt you. They are, after all, the subconscious manifestations of things your mind can’t work through during the day.

Or… something like that. I read it in a horoscope once.

Perhaps that’s why I walk the streets of Bridgeport at night.

Perhaps that’s why I find myself again and again in James Frank’s apartment, in the place I felt trapped for so long.

But in my dreams, the apartment is burning.

I am burning.

Ash chokes my screams. Flames scorch my tongue. Clothes melt, searing irrevocably onto my skin. My tears dry instantly, evaporating in the overwhelming heat.

“Dreams can’t hurt you,” they say.

Well. They’re wrong.

And, inevitably, he is there.

Lips hot on my skin, his caress is worse than the fire’s breath.

“Please, stop,” I whisper, as his hands crawl down my arms, my ribs.

“Shh, Lucas.”

His voice is nothing more than the crackling laughter of the flames.

And then I’m on the bed, but my body won’t respond. I’m helpless.

“Stop.”

I want to wake up.

I need to wake up.

Please, let me wake up.

***

“Gabriel…?”

I opened my eyes to stare up into Jamie’s pale, anxious face. My throat felt like sandpaper and it hurt to swallow. My head pounded behind my eyes. Scratch that. My eyes were throbbing. I groaned and shut them again.

“Are you okay?” Jamie asked. “Do you want some water? Or something to eat? I could -”

I made myself sit up, opening my eyes again and squinting in the garish yellow light. Jamie broke off.

“What time is it?” My voice sounded hoarse.

Jamie looked around, eyes flicking to the broken clock beside me and then to the window.

“Dark o’clock?”

I scrubbed my hand over my face with another groan.

“I’m sorry,” I muttered. “Did I wake you?”

Jamie hesitated for a moment, before saying softly, “You were screaming.”

I swung my legs around and forced my protesting body to stand up; there was no way I was going to get back to sleep.

“I’m going for a walk,” I said, brushing off Jamie’s comment. “Clear my head.”

There was a pause.

“Now? It’s like… the middle of the night.”

“Yeah.”

Another pause.

“I’m coming with you.”

“You have school tomorrow, Jamie.”

“But I’m not tired…”

Eventually, I gave in; even if my fledgling parental instinct told me I should insist on Jamie going back to sleep, the rest of me was glad of the offer.

We ended up at the small park where I had spent that first night, months ago now. Jamie was shivering, hugging his thin shirt around himself as he perched quietly on one of the chairs. Not wanting him to catch a chill or something, I made myself light a fire.

I couldn’t help but flinch as the flames caught, greedily licking at the charred wood.

Jamie relaxed visibly once the fire was crackling merrily, sending waves of warmth washing over the clearing. I knew that he was afraid of the dark, which made me all the more grateful he had wanted to come along.

I must have really worried him.

Sure enough, after a stretch of companionable silence, he asked, “Why were you screaming?”

I poked the fire hesitantly, pushing the burning coal away from myself, making it crawl up the opposite side of the fire pit.

As I mulled over his question, Jamie picked up another stick and began to ‘helpfully’ even out the coals again.

I didn’t know what to tell him. If I lied to him now, surely it would backfire on me later? Surely he would use it against me in a future fit of rebellion?

But could I trust him with the truth? Would he hate me?

He had confided in me a lot about his own past in recent weeks, however – things that were obviously hard for him to share. Surely I owed it to him to do the same, to trust him as he had trusted me?

I let out a long, low sigh, steeling myself.

“I was dreaming about James Frank.”

Jamie looked up in surprise.

“The dead actor? Why would you – ?” A swirl of emotions passed over his face as he put two and two together and, all at once, tentative realisation dawned. “You know what happened to him?”

My chest constricted suddenly with panic, my fingers tightening on the poker. What if Jamie went to the police now? What if this – my new life – had all been for nothing?

I swallowed my fear.

Jamie had no one else but me. Just what would he do if he ratted me out to the police?

Self preservation wins over all but the most stringent of moral compasses.

“It was an accident,” I told him quietly. “I just… I didn’t want to be his… his toy anymore.”

“I get that,” Jamie said quietly, after a moment of silence.

He gazed down at the flames, not really looking at them. He had a far off, sad look in his eyes and somehow I had the feeling that he was no longer thinking just about me and James Frank. Hot guilt bubbled up in my stomach; I hated seeing him so sad.

“Jamie…?”

He started at my voice and looked up at me, giving me a weak smile.

“Don’t worry. It was a bit of a shock, but your secret’s safe with me.”

I wanted to hug him.

But the moment passed, and suddenly Jamie was smiling genuinely again.

“We should toast some marshmallows.”

“Marshmallows?” I repeated. “But we don’t have any marshmallows.”

“Au contraire,” Jamie said, grinning.

He pulled out a bag of the aforementioned fluffy treats and waggled them at me. I couldn’t help but grin back, appreciating his effort at breaking the tense and uncomfortable mood.

“I’m not even going to ask where you got those from.”

We sat in a comfortable silence whilst Jamie set up some marshmallows on a stick for himself.

When he was finished, he tossed me the bag with another grin.

“Have you spoken to Susie yet?”

I’d talked to Jamie about my problems with Susie before, mostly when I was moping about and needed a sympathetic ear. He was of the opinion that I should talk to her about what had happened (I hadn’t gone into details). Otherwise I would never know if it had just been a horrible misunderstanding.

But I was worried it hadn’t been a horrible misunderstanding.

“Not yet,” I replied in what I hoped was a nonchalant voice, skewering a single marshmallow.

Jamie laughed softly.

“You’re hopeless, Gabe. How do you expect to make up with her if you don’t talk to her?”

I was spared having to reply by Jamie’s marshmallows suddenly catching fire.

“Crap!” He waved the burning stick around ineffectually. “What do I do?!”

“Put it out!” I cried, recoiling.

“How?!”

“I don’t know!”

When the fire eventually died, Jamie was left with some rather sorry-looking marshmallows.

“Aw, man.”

“Blech!”

The marshmallow disaster may have pulled attention from the matter of Susie and I, but I knew deep down that Jamie was right. I would have to talk to her if I wanted any sort of closure.

Even if she never wanted to see me again.

***

The next morning, a rather bleary Jamie headed to school.

He had looked so exhausted that I offered to let him take the day off, but he refused.

I was proud of him.

Even though he hated school sometimes (believe me, I had heard enough complaints and rants from him), he recognised how lucky he was to have this second chance. He was determined to graduate, even if he had to trundle through some days as a zombie.

I watched the school bus roll away down the hill as I finished off the morning’s gardening. I hoped that I would have good news for Jamie at the end of the day.

He didn’t know it, but I was determined to take his advice to heart and talk to Susie.

When I’d finished my chores out in the garden, I found myself staring at my reflection in the cracked bedroom mirror. I was starting to have doubts about my plan already.

Maybe it was stupid. Maybe Susie would just laugh in my face.

Maybe she had found better friends.

How do you expect to make up with her if you don’t talk to her?

Jamie’s words reared up in my mind, demanding attention. I couldn’t ignore them – as I said before, I knew he was right. I had to talk to her.

Newly resolute, I straightened my hat in the mirror.

Let’s do this.

***

I found myself outside the theatre, hovering indecisively. Since I didn’t know where Susie lived, her place of work seemed like my best shot.

But what if she wasn’t there?

It was quiet at this time of day. Eerie even. I almost – almost – turned around and went home. I had given myself enough stupid reasons to, enough justifications to walk away and forget we ever had a friendship. To forget everything.

Taking a deep breath to steady myself, I went inside.

I was directed by a helpful usher down some long corridors to the staff break room. It was a dingy little place, cheered up by a smattering of posters.

Sure enough, Susie was there.

She was playing a portable piano, her fingers fluttering over the keys. A man stood beside her, accompanying her on the guitar, the strong, rich notes complimenting the tinkling of keys perfectly.

They were good.

Susie had always been extremely modest about her musical talents – she had me believing that her repertoire consisted only of Hot Cross Buns and Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. But this was…

For the first time, I realised that Susie could go far.

Even if she didn’t have the confidence in herself yet.

Then, I stopped listening to the music and just… looked at her.

And she took my breath away.

I was so caught up in looking at Susie that I didn’t notice the man who had been beside her had stopped playing.

Without a word, he put down his guitar and strode over to me. I suddenly felt rather awkward.

“Er, hi. I’m here to -”

He cut me off, jabbing his finger at my chest.

“This area is staff only. Get out.”

I was taken aback at his aggression.

“But -”

“Out.”

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw Susie stop playing and slide off the piano stool.

Maybe she was coming to rescue me.

Or perhaps she was coming to give me a slap.

I hoped it was the former.

“Isaac, are you picking fights again?” she asked, walking towards us.

Her voice was even sweeter than I remembered.

“He’s not supposed to be in here. I want him out.”

“It’s okay,” Susie said softly, taking the man – Isaac – by the arms. “Gabriel’s a friend.”

She glanced at me, and then looked back at Isaac. He smiled at her.

“Well, I suppose if he’s your friend…”

“Thank you, Isaac.”

Then, Susie turned to me and my mind went blank.

What was I supposed to say to her after all this time? She had called me a ‘friend’, but was that just her way of stopping that Isaac guy from beating the crap out of me?

Maybe I was over-thinking this…

“Susie, I…”

I trailed off. My tongue felt heavy in my mouth, my throat tight.

I couldn’t do this.

“Gabe… it’s okay. What are you here for?”

I swallowed, glancing over at Susie’s two co-workers. I needed something to look at that wasn’t her.

They were watching us intently, hanging on every word.

At this realisation, I felt even more uncomfortable. A cold sweat trickled down my spine. I thought I might vomit.

“Is there any chance we can go somewhere more private?” I asked, my voice low so that only Susie could hear.

“Gabe… I’m sorry. I can’t do that.”

My heart plummeted. Crashed.

“I… I understand.”

“My lunch break is almost over,” Susie added, smiling now. “But I have the day off tomorrow. We could meet up then?”

My heart revived. Gave an experimental jump.

“Seriously?”

My smile felt as though it would split my face in two.

“Yes, you silly man.” She batted my arm gently. “Now go, I have work to do.”

“Don’t come back!”

Looking back, I might have been imagining the almost-friendly way Isaac said that.

***

“So, I’m meeting up with her tomorrow.”

I finished explaining what had happened to Jamie in a tone of quiet desperation. We were working on his science homework together, but, to be honest, I was about as much use to him as a dead squirrel.

Jamie gave me a look.

“So… like a date?”

“It’s not a date!” I protested, perhaps too quickly.

A heated flush rose up in my cheeks; Jamie looked disbelieving.

“Uh huh… well, it seems as though you have it all under control.”

“But – help me…”

“Nope, first you have to help me with this. My teacher wants me to explain why the sky is blue.”

“The sky’s always been blue.”

“I know, but she wants a ‘scientific explanation’ and I fell asleep whilst she was explaining it.”

“Can’t you just say something like… ‘God painted it blue?’ and any other answer would go against your obviously strong Christian beliefs?”

“Somehow, I don’t think she would class that as ‘scientific’, Gabe.”

“Perhaps you’re right…”

“Ugh, I give up.”

***

That night, I dreamt of James Frank again.

I’m in his arms, balanced precariously on the edge of the old apartment building. The railings are on the wrong side. The wind buffets at my body, but he stands firm. Strong.

One step to the left and I’ll fall into open sky.

“You know why you’re here, Lucas.” His voice is snatched away by the wind.

“I don’t.”

I try to move away, to get back to safety, but my body won’t obey. I’m frozen in his embrace.

“Please,” I beg. “Let me go.”

“It’s time for you to pay for what you did,” he whispers.

And then, I’m falling.

And falling.

***

No!”

I sat bolt upright in bed, breathing raggedly. My shirt and my sheets were soaked with sweat. My palms have crescent-shaped grooves where I had clenched my fists tightly in the night and dug my nails into my skin. My heart was racing, clattering against my ribcage.

This was getting ridiculous.

***

Later that day, James Frank’s words still ringing in my ears, I met Susie at our old meeting place, the gazebo. She was already waiting on our bench, looking nervous, as though she wasn’t really sure what to expect.

I am ashamed to say that, still shaken by my nightmare, I wasted no breath on small talk.

“Why did you stop seeing me?” I asked bluntly as I flopped down on the bench beside her. “Did I… did I do something wrong?”

“What?” Susie looked shocked. “No… nothing like that.”

“Then what happened?”

I needed to understand, needed to know that there was some reason to all of this. Susie looked at her hands.

“I just… I needed some time to think,” she said quietly. “What you told me… it was a big shock.”

“But… you just stopped seeing me.”

Susie shook her head.

“I came back after a couple of days, but you’d stopped coming.” She paused for a moment, and then shook her head again. “I thought… I thought you didn’t want to see me any more.”

“I guess… I guess we both jumped to conclusions.”

I felt relieved. And like an asshole for practically leaping down her throat.

Susie was silent for a long moment.

“There’s something else… I went to the police, Gabe.”

My heart actually stopped beating.

“Y-you did what?” My voice was strangled with panic.

But suddenly, panic was suffocated by anger.

“Wh-what if they suspect me of killing him?” I snapped. “Did you ever think of that?!”

“I…”

“I thought they might need a new lead, and the thing about James Frank being a horrible person, well… that opens up a whole new range of possibilities. I didn’t mention your name.”

She paused. Let out a shaky sigh.

“Besides, the policeman I told didn’t even believe me. Said I was a bitch who wouldn’t know a truly good person if they pulled my mother out from in front of a speeding car.”

Now I felt like even more of an asshole.

Especially because I was lying to her.

“Look… it doesn’t matter.” I tried to make my voice as gentle and apologetic as I possibly could. “I’m sorry. I guess I just… panicked there for a moment.”

“Yeah…”

After a moment of silence, I added, “That policeman is a dick.”

Susie gave me a weak smile.

“His name was Richard, so…”

Now, I’m not sure how it happened.

One moment we were laughing over the horrible policeman’s unfortunate name, the next… we were kissing.

I had never kissed anyone like that before.

James Frank was never one for sweet, innocent kisses.

She had amazingly soft lips, although they were hesitant against mine. But what surprised me the most was the way Susie tasted, a mixture of sunshine and mint that made my head reel. I wound my arm around her shoulders, resting the other (gentleman-like) on her waist.

She surprised me more by resting her hand on top of mine.

Eventually, we pulled apart, and my eyes met Susie’s anxious ones. My stomach felt as though it was filled with grasshoppers. In a good way.

“That wasn’t meant to happen,” Susie whispered breathlessly, but she didn’t pull away.

“I don’t know how it did,” I admitted.

Not sure what else to do, we sat and talked until the sun sank behind the town hall, catching up. I told her about Jamie; she told me how she was starting a band with that guy Isaac and the woman I had seen earlier, Sugar. It was… nice. Calming.

“I should go,” Susie said finally, standing up.

I followed suit.

“When can I see you again?” I asked, hoping I didn’t sound too eager. Hoping I wasn’t being a complete idiot.

She turned to look at me, her eyes dancing in the sunset.

“Soon?”

I gave her a warm smile. And had (what I thought was) a brilliant idea.

“Susie Moss, would you like to go on a date with me?”

She laughed, but her eyes lit up like the sun. I compared her to the sun too often.

“Okay.” Her lips twitched with another smile. “Since you asked so nicely and all.”

I walked home with a spring in my step.

***

My buoyant mood spiralled into oblivion when I reached the house (which took a little over an hour, since I lived so far out of town). The lights were out, meaning Jamie had already had dinner and gone to bed, but that wasn’t the reason for my sudden emotional nose-dive. Or perhaps it was a sudden emotional roller-coaster? Something like that.

A woman was standing outside the front door, hugging herself and shivering. Maybe even crying.

A strangely familiar woman.

I stopped dead in my tracks and must have made some noise of shock. The woman looked up at me, recognition sparking to life in her eyes as she took a staggering, stumbling step away from the wall.

“Lucas… I need your help.”

55 Comments

Filed under Gen 1

55 responses to “1.03 – Blaze

  1. Eeeee! I love this chapter! The dream sequences are so coooool and punk-Isaac is HOT. And I love Jamie. He is the most adorable teen ever and I want to hug him =3

    Did I mention that I really like the chapter? =D

    • Emy

      Punk/rock-Isaac is hot. I know. o_0 I was surprised. He didn’t strike me as the ‘hot’ kind of guy.

      I love Jamie too. :D

      Thank you! :D <3 <3

  2. You totally have to upload Jaime for me! Pretty pretty please with sugar on top? He’s absolutely precious! :]

    But I loved this chapter! Gabe – Lucas – is starting to really come apart at the seams, I think. James is haunting him and he can’t escape it. You really get a sense of his fear and unease and I love it! And I’m very happy that Susie is back. Gabe’s relationship with her is an odd one and I quite enjoy it. I also think they’ll make pretty babies. *hintnudgehint* ;)

    Oh and punk Isaac made me laugh! Too funny!

    • Emy

      I shall try! The exchange hates me, so I’ll try and upload his .sim file on Mediafire when I next play. He does have custom skin (Lady Frontbum) but that’s easily remedied in CAS if you don’t have it. ^^ I’ll let you know when he’s uploaded.

      Yeah, Gabe’s starting to go slightly mad with guilt. Something like that would eat at you and eat at you until there’s nothing left.

      Punk Isaac makes me laugh a lot. XD

      Thank you so much! <3

  3. Wow, Emy, this was just gripping! The nightmare scenes made me shudder…seriously..poor Gabe!

    Jamie is good for him, though. I think he might have gone crazy in that nasty house with those nasty dreams if it wasn’t for Jamie. AND I’m glad Jamie forced him to go see Susie again, though I freaked out when she said she’d gone to the police.

    Oooooh, and is that Kami? How did she find him?! If she knows where he is, hopefully that doesn’t mean the police do too. That last nightmare was pretty ominous though…

    Aaaah, need more!

    • Emy

      I’m glad the nightmare scenes had their desired effect. They were quite fun to shoot, not so fun to write. Poor Gabriel.

      Jamie’s very good for him. It means he has someone to talk to and look out for, and it means he doesn’t spend -too- much time trapped in his own brain.

      Haha, you pretty much summed up everything going through Gabriel’s head when he realised who it was.

      Thank you so much! <3

  4. Oh and I completely forgot to mention how awesome Isaac was in his little cameo, and Sugar too! They looked great, and Isaac was so dominant and sure of himself…I love it!

    • Emy

      I loved playing and writing Isaac like that. For some reason, I have a feeling that he’ll appear again. I’m incapable of writing in a character just for fun, haha. But if he and Sugar are in a band with Susie, we’ll be seeing more of them. :)

  5. Lilith Kawanami

    I feel terrible for Gabe! James deserved to die, even if it was an accident! It wasn’t Gabe’s fault!
    Jamie is so cute!! ^-^
    LMAO Punk Isaac and Sugar! :D
    Good for him and Susie also!!!
    Was that Kami at the end? How did she find him? I hope she doesn’t mess things up with Susie!!!

    • Emy

      Gabriel’s a good person, though, so the guilt is eating away at him. Even if it was an accident.

      I think Gabriel is asking the same question. “How did she find me? D: D:”

      Thank you! <3

  6. Ja volim. Isaac looks hot with the spiky hair in this chapter. Da.

    Anyways, the dreams are definitely nightmares for Gabe. Hvala he has Jamie there for him. And the fact that Jamie told Gabe to go talk with Susie is the smartest advice that Gabe have followed.

    What’s up with the woman at the end? Curiosity got the best of me.

    • Emy

      He does. I was surprised. XD

      You’re right. I think Jamie was the best thing that could have happened to Gabriel at this moment in time.

      All will be revealed next chapter. :)

      Thank you! <3

  7. I thought Isaac looked like Cloud from Final Fantasy…do you know who I mean?

    Loved, loved the chapter. The dreams were intense and awesome. Wonderful way to use the falling poses. I wonder how things are going to go with the new girl there, Kami? Will Susie ever understand his life and will he ever tell her about it. She doesn’t seem like the type to live like a practical indigent.

    • Emy

      Ahahaa. XD You do have a point. He kind of does. But then, I like Cloud so that’s okay. ;)

      Thank you. :) I had a lot of fun with the dream sequences, generally playing around with poses and the fog emitter and the one more slot pack. :)

      It’s going to be complicated, that’s for sure. But it will resolve itself. Eventually. :)

      Thank you! <3

  8. Hmmm where to begin? Well, those dreams that he is having are quite scary indeed. I know the fact that he is having these dreams because of guilt, plus he is still fearful of him. I hope they get better in time! Poor Gabe.

    Good for Jamie talking some sense into Gabe! He needed to talk to her, and it was a good thing he did too. :) I LOVED Sugar and Issac! Sooo hot <3 (Issac that is xD) At first I didn't even reconize him, until you said his name. I noticed Sugar right of the bat.

    Okay, who is that woman at his house? :o

    Great update, Sponge.

    • Emy

      I’m sure that they’ll get better in time. Also, I think it’d help if he told Susie the truth, because he feels guilty for lying to her. :/ But you can’t exactly just go “I killed him” to someone. Not if you don’t want to end up in prison.

      I’m not quite sure what happened with Isaac. All I did was change his hair and put a beard on him and he went from cute to hot. o_0

      All will be revealed~~ :D

      Thank you! <3

  9. Dreamy Underwood

    Oh, Bad Mrs. Hamming (Is it still or has she left). Also I was thinking oh, Sugar is no longer insane then at the end her face … Also, Issac borrowed a punk and Insane which is just ….

    Did I saw I loved the chapter!

  10. I love this story. Poor Gabriel/Lucas. :( You’re really good at the screenshots. Also, I’m glad Susie is back. Can I put this story on my blogroll thing for my new DitFT?

  11. Ooooh Isaac. I didn’t even realise it was him until I read the comments. Personality transplant or what? Plus his new look is really kinda hot! :D
    So taking in Jamie didn’t quite balance Gabe’s karma, looks like his subconscious is trying to tell him something. I’m scared the guilt will eat him up soon :/
    And waah who is that?? His mum?? His old friend? (name forgotten^^) hmmm theories, theories… x

    • Emy

      Hehe, he definitely had a personality transplant. This is the Isaac he wished he had the guts to have been. He probably dreamt of being a rock star when he was a little boy. ;)

      Yeah, your subconscious can do funny things. Poor Gabe.

      Hopefully I won’t take too long to get the next chapter out and all will be revealed. :)

      Thank you!! <3

  12. Goatster96

    I loved how you portrayed the dreams– especially the first one– in this chapter. :D The poor dear…
    And ooooh, Isaac gave me a laugh! Going from a deceased adorable elder to a punk guitar player in this story… xD
    I’m thinking that girl in the end picture is whats-her-face Gabe’s old friend that he had a crush on, but I also think it could be his mother. I don’t think we ever got to see her face, so it’s possible.

    • Emy

      Aw, thank you! <3 I was amazed some of the shots I got for the dream sequences.

      Haha, I know. It was fun to have him come back. ^^

      Hopefully I'll be able to get the next chapter out soon. :) Thanks!! <3 <3

  13. Nightrain17

    How do you do it!?!?! How do you manage to get me so hooked and fan-obsessed with your legacies?!?! And eeeek who the hell is that girl standing at his doorstep. And wow Isaac… I could never imagine Isaac to be so nasty *shivers* and the spikey hair o_O!
    Yay for new love kinda! Aww Susie is so sweet, and Jamie has got to be the cutest teenager in the world. The dreams just made me shiver, poor Gabe having to go through them.
    The girl at his door, is either his Mother or that girl from Bridgeport that he used to like.

    • Emy

      I don’t know, but I’m glad I manage it. :) I love your comments. ^^

      Haha, yeah, Isaac’s definitely had a personality transplant. Maybe this is the Isaac he always wanted to be. ;)

      Susie’s sweet, bless her. She has the cutest expressions in game. It’s a shame I can’t use them all. XD Same with Jamie. <3

      All will be revealed next chapter. ;)

      Thank you! <3

  14. I love this chapter! And wow, those pics are really spectacular Emy! Now makes me wish I was home to test out the fog emitter.

    And yeaa! I’m so happy Gabe and Suzie kissed. That was adorable. But I’m afraid everything is going to come crashing down with the appearance of Kami.

    • Emy

      Aw, thank you. <3

      I was amazed some of the shots I managed to get for this chapter. I'm going to play around with the fog emitter more because the list of effects is REALLY long and I only used 'fire'. Oh, and 'bees', but we know how well that went. XD

      I wasn't planning on them kissing. It just kind of happened and I went with it, haha. It was really sweet, though. As for Kami… let's just say… she's a nice girl but she knows how to get what she wants.

      Thank you! :) <3

  15. Emy! You never cease to amaze me. First of, if you hadn’t said anything about ‘other founder’, I’d never recognized Isaac. This is the Isaac, the other Isaac dreamed to have been. 2nd, what a shot… the bed on fire, James on top and then that one single hand of Gabe reaching up! Ahhh, that gave me chills!
    Jamie is tha man! Love his French and the disgusted look at the burnt marshmallow. He kinda took care of Gabe which is cool. Love their interaction.
    And argh you great people and your cliffhangers… *shakes fist* ;) No, seriously, I’m in love! -Jed

    • Emy

      Haha, yeah, you’re right. That’s the Isaac he wishes he could have been, hehe. <3

      I love that shot. It's very chilling and captures the scene perfectly. I was surprised when I looked through my screenshots and found that it looked so good!! :)

      I love Jamie. Gabriel's like a mixture of his friend, brother and father. They have an odd relationship, but it works. Even if Gabe is useless when it comes to homework help.

      Haha, I'm sorry. ^^ Thank you!! <3 <3

  16. susie and gabe need to be together…right now. ;) i love those two. i’m very intrigued at who this mystery woman is…and why she and james have been calling gabriel lucas. speaking of james frank, poor gabe definitely needs to come to terms with what has happened. maybe then the nightmares will stop.

    • Emy

      They’ve been calling him Lucas because Lucas is his real name. He changed it to Gabriel when he fled Bridgeport. It was at the beginning of the prologue, though, so it’s easy to forget, haha. XD

      I love those two, as well. They make a lovely couple! :D

      Thank you! <3

  17. OMG I loved it but then that’s no big surprise really now is it? :P

    I was worried when Gabe started to confide in Jamie but did enjoy their little marshmallow adventure. Jamie seems like a really good kid but I’m sure he’s going to want to know ‘how’ it was an accident soon enough.

    So glad that Gabe and Susie are taking again wheeeeeeee. Issac looks so different and I am guilty of thinking that was Jany beside him at first glance and not Sugar.

    Was that Kami at the end? Oh dear I wonder what has happened to her if she has managed to track Gabe down all this way… must be serious.

    OMG loved it, its sooooo great!

    • Emy

      Possibly not. :P

      Jamie is curious as to the ‘how’, but he knows Gabriel will tell him when and if he wants to tell him. I suppose because Jamie’s got his own difficult secrets, it means he understands the need for delicacy more than a normal teenage boy. XD Yay for marshmallow adventures! :D

      Isaac does look different, hehe. Sorry, I didn’t really give Sugar much face time. Though she did pull a rather insane face. XD

      Yes, all will be revealed next chapter. :D

      Thank you!! I’m glad you loved it!! <3

  18. I love the dreams the are so surreal

  19. I love this, I love all of it. Gosh knows how much effort you must have put in to capture those fantastic photos and they really support your ensnaring writing style. I really can’t get enough of this story and your talent!

  20. Poor Gabe. :( Can’t wait to read the next chapter, and find out about the mysterious woman!

  21. Lanthal

    Wow. Can I just say that you are a fantastic writer? I’ve been away from the Sims legacy/challenge scene for a long time and out of the blue I decided to have a peek back into the world and wow. Just incredible. You’ve given your characters such incredible depth and as Styx and many others have said – those nightmare scenes were crazy creepy!
    You have me hooked, I want more please. :D

    • Emy

      Aww, thank you so much!! It’s always nice to meet new readers.

      I’m so pleased those nightmare scenes had their desired effect. ;)

      I hope to have another chapter out soon. I have another blog to update first, but hopefully that won’t take too long! <3

  22. Melanie Baker

    Isaac is awesome! and the nightmare scenes, omg wow. just like the way everyone who knew Gabe from before calls him lucas, a bit like Caspian and Fredrik called Sparrow Coreen. i love it emy, i want more gimme more! i want the mysterious woman to be the girl from bridgeport so you have to tell us pwease emmy!

    • Emy

      Haha, thank you! :) I loved doing the nightmare sequences.

      I plan to update this as soon as I’ve updated the Dreams. I hope this file doesn’t give me as many problems as the other one. D:

  23. The Girl it is Kami. I check with the prologue and she has the same nose and mouths at least it looks like it.

  24. First off…burnt marshmallow tastes awesome. I usually like a little char on mine, just sayin’. ;)

    I liked this chapter. I’m happy that Gabe got back together with Susie, and with an exciting, budding romance between them. <3

    I have a good guess as to who the mysterious woman is! I wonder if I'm right. Great job!

  25. Wow on the dream sequence…the shots were awesome!! I’m glad Susie and Gabriel are back on the right track. It didn’t occur to me who the bandmates were until reading the comments section…I’m a bit slow :-) I’m curious about Kami…and how she found him.

    • Emy

      Thank you! :D I had a lot of fun with the dream sequences. :)

      Haha, don’t worry. They do look rather different, anyway.

      Kami has her ways.

      Thank you! <3

  26. The story just keeps getting better! I’m so happy Susie gave him another chance :) Hopefully Kami doesn’t ruin everything somehow.

Leave a Reply

